The Wonder Bread of Expiation

It’s the Jewish new year, and I’m atoning for my sins in the hope of redemption.  I’m up to sin number 2345.  That’s a lot of people to to apologize to.  It’s also alot of bread to through in the water.  An ancient custom which symbolizes literallycasting away one’s sins. Or better, giving up the baggage that keeps us stuck.
So, this year I figured I would try it .  I made a major pilgrimage downtown to the Hudson river.  The vista was so spectacular that I felt spiritual.  It this doesn’t do it nothing will, I thought.  I said to myself, I’m really sorry for all of it, as I threw in a loaf of Wonder Bread.   It treaded water and floated back to me.
So much for my expiation this year.

Leave a Reply

