The Beginning Of Enlightenment

I’ve become attached to my blue sofa . What should I do?   Weeks have gone by and I’m exhausted.  I’ve gone to every event imaginable–Internet Marketing  Mondays,  Solar Energy Ice Cream Bash, Private Equity Pre-Olympic Drinkathon–and not a single job interview.  My apartment is filled with business cards.  I don’t even remember who these  people are.  How can I expect them to remember me?  I think I left my self-esteem at one of these events.  In the coat room.

The phone rings and it’s Cora Flowers, a career counselor I met at my flurry of events.

 “So, PinkSlip, how’s it going?” she asks blithly.

I do not want to have this conversation.  (I’m even getting pity from my manicurist.  She looks at me and in broken English says, “How sad.  At least I’m busy.”   Well, I cut back and only had one hand painted.)

“Lousy” I moan.  There, I  said it.

“Well, where do you want to work?” she asks cheerily.  One of my clients networked herself into a co mpany in two days after she was fired.”

Oh, give me a break.  “Nowhere,  I don’t want to work anywhere.  As a matter of fact, I want to be “The Harvard Dog Walker.”  Six dogs on a leash.  I’ll recite Chaucer to your pooch while they poop!”

“PinkSlip, you need help. Please let me help you.  I want you to take the Myers Briggs Personality Test and Strong Inventory of Interests.  I won’t take no for an answer. ”

I think, perhaps there is an answer…

Leave a Reply

