Thanksgiving Day

Time is speeding by and it’s already Thanksgiving.  There is a chill in the air and I still don’t have a job.  The good news is that I’ve cleaned out my sock drawer.  And I found every birthday card my mother every gave me.  What do I do with these memories?  I used to take her to the Harvard club for Thanksgiving dinner.  It was our tradition.  We would get drunk on Cosmos sitting by the picture of Helen Keller.  The last two years were really rough.  She was angry, yelling in the dining room.  I was just pissed I had to do it.  But it really didn’t occur to me that time runs out…

So now I’m watching the  parade on TV and I’m gearing myself for visiting my mother, who is now living in her bed.

When things are crumbling, I guess we must be grateful for the pieces!  We are blessed to have this day.  I wish you all a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

