Tell Me About Your Self—Is Your Pink Slip Showing?

Do you ever wonder what it’s all about?  Well, as the unemployment rate in NYC reaches 17%, I certainly do.  I’m a Harvard Business School graduate without a job.   And I’ve graduated Harvard not once, but twice!  With fifteen years of work experience.   You can relate.   Now that I think of it, I’ve spent most of my life “searching”.  For the right job.  And for the right guy.   But somehow my picket fence remains my 500 square foot studio on East 72nd Street    Have you noticed that interviews and dating are pretty similar experiences?   So, let me tell you about myself.  I’m Jane, and I’m currently lying in my bed on the upper east side of Manhattan with my teddy bear, Solace.  And multiple Hershey bar wrappers.  Where does one go from here?

Most recently, I worked for an internet marketing start-up in NYC.  Starting last January, business took a nose-dive as a result of the recession.  During the summer, we couldn’t generate any new business.  Nervous marketing managers slashed budgets.  “Spend” became the new “four letter” word.  Two weeks before my birthday last October, I’m handed my “pink slip”.  Happy Birthday Jane!

I gathered my shoes, photos, and mouse pad before my computer unceremoniously goes black. Looking back, I saw it coming. But I wasn’t prepared.  Now an outsider, I embark on a new journey.  To figure “It” out.  Life is a puzzle.

I must ask you, “Is your pink slip showing?”

Leave a Reply

