My Slip was “Pink!”

I ‘m just a small town girl from Seaside, LI. who grew up between a dump and the Long Island Power Company.  As I child, my Disneyland was watching the landfill rise under the silver twinkling light of fission.  I grew up on Cupcake Lane where all the houses looked pretty much the same. But the violence inside them wasn’t.  My goal was to leave Seaside once and for all.  To go to Harvard College, an institution that stood for tolerance.  This was some aspiration for a Jewish girl from Seaside!   My dream somehow was granted.  I studied Shakespeare, and it was wonderful.  I headed for NYC after graduation with the other lemmings and like “Carrie Bradshaw” had many exciting adventures. There were plenty of jobs, boyfriends, and shoes, but nothing ever seemed to stick.  Do you know what I mean?  And then the charms started to fall off the bracelet that I cherished.

Leave a Reply

